After University of Arizona clinched their 35–42 victory over Arizona State University in late November, it was natural for the team to go out celebrating that night. Apparently, they celebrated a bit too much. Wildcat wide receiver Samajie Grant, who scored a 20-yard touchdown during the thrilling matchup, was pulled over by local law enforcement after the celebrations. Cited for driving under the influence (DUI) as a minor, Grant was subsequently dropped from the starting team for the Pac-12 Championship game and will be undergoing counseling, along with a community service sentence.
2 a.m. on 29 November 2014, Grant was pulled over in his Chevy Camaro after making a right turn at the intersection of Third Street and Campell Avenue, in Tucson. The on-duty officer pulled Grant over for a broken license plate light and suspicious driving. Upon approaching the vehicle, the officer noted the smell of marijuana and found six passengers in the vehicle, along with Grant. According to the police report, the Wildcat football player had admitted to smoking marijuana an hour before the stop.
Cited for driving under the influence of illegal drugs, Samajie Grant was also charged with minor in possession of spirituous liquor, and person under 21 in physical control of a motor vehicle with spirituous liquor. Because Grant did not have a driver’s license on him, he was also charged driving without a valid operator’s license and his vehicle was impounded. As aforementioned, the school punished him by removing him from the list of starters for the Pac-12 Championship game. Grant was also ordered to perform community service and to attend counseling sessions.
In Arizona, an underage DUI is a very serious offense. The state holds a zero-tolerance policy for drinking or driving and these rules extend to driving under the influence of illegal drugs. If you are under the age of 21 and a police offer registers a blood alcohol content (BAC) greater than 0.01 percent, you will be charged with an underage DUI. While this offense is not associated with a mandatory jail sentence or any mandatory fines, if convicted the defendant does run the risk of detention in a juvenile detention facility, if the defendant is tried as a juvenile. The defendant is also at risk for a suspended license, although judges do often grant special permits, allowing the defendant to drive between school, work, and home.
If the underage driver registers a BAC greater than 0.08 percent, he or she may be charged with a straightforward DUI. This can result in much more severe penalization, including a mandatory jail sentence and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
If you have been convicted of driving under the influence, having an attorney on your side is crucial. Having the right lawyer can mean the difference between a guilty and not-guilty charge. At The Weingart Firm, in Tempe, Phoenix, and Scottsdale, AZ, we have the intimate knowledge of the court system and the law to successfully defend your interests. But all the knowledge in the world doesn’t mean much without the proper experience. DUI attorney Mike Weingart has been practicing law for over 35 years and has represented over 30,000 clients. Put your future in safe hands and call our office to schedule your free case evaluation today: 480-897-8737.